GIANT Award Honorees

Junior Giant Scholarships

The scholarships are awarded to nominated students who demonstrate the essence of a Junior Giant; demonstrated leadership community involvement and impact, academic and athletic accomplishments, or academic achievement/academic progress.

Each year, the Junior Giant Cedric Ward Leadership Scholarship is awarded to a senior student in the Kent Intermediate School District, and the Junior Giant Dr. Patricia Pulliam Leadership Scholarship is awarded to a current college student.

2019 Junior Giant Award Honorees

  • Cedric Ward Leadership Scholarship: Jmyrea White
  • Dr. Patricia Pulliam Leadership Scholarship: Maya Smith

2019 Giant Award Honorees

Award Recipient
Ethel Coe Humanities Award Lisa M. Knight
Eugene Browning Medical Service Award Jason Slaikeu MD, MBA
Floyd Skinner Justice Award Not awarded this year.
Giant Among Giants Michael B. Johnson, Sr.
Hattie Beverly Education Award Not awarded this year.
H.C. Toliver Religious Life Award

Bishop Dennis J. McMurray & Dr. E. Jean Lackey-McMurray

Martha Reynolds Labor Award Carrie L. Jackson
Milo Brown Business Award

Troy Yarbrough of Preferred Construction Group

Phyllis Scott Activist Award Cole Williams

Raymond Tardy Community Service Award

India Manns
W.W. Plummer Humanitarian Award LaSandra A. Gaddy
Walter Coe Public Service Award Mari Beth Johnson-Jelks
William Glenn Trailblazer Award Victoria Ann Upton (Posthumously)