Giants Awards

Since 1983, thirteen African American individuals and/or organizations are recognized annually for their exceptional contributions shaping the history and quality of life of greater Grand Rapids. The idea for this event grew out of need for recognizing notable contributions of African Americans to the quality of life in Grand Rapids. The founders for this event, Dr. Patricia Pulliam and Cedric Ward decided to engage a group of people from the community to plan the event.

The awards recognize the contributions from all aspects of community life. Each award is named after local individuals who have given excellence and is a perpetual memorial to their notable contributions.

Proceeds from the event are contributed to the Grand Rapids Community College Foundation’s Milo M. Brown Memorial Scholarship Fund. Two or more scholarships are awarded annually. The scholarships are presented to African American students as perpetual memorials to Mr. Brown.

Special thanks to our sponsors, participating organizations, and friends who have contributed toward making this an important and successful tradition.

The 35th Annual Giants Awards & Banquet will be held at 6:00 p.m. on Saturday, February 4, 2017, DeVos Place, 303 Monroe Ave NW, Grand Rapids MI 49503.


2017 Giants Award HONOREES:

Floyd Skinner Justice Award - Henry L. Saverson

Walter Coe Public Service Award - Frederick S. Brown

Eugene Browning Medical Service Award - TaLawnda Bragg, M.D.

W.W. Plummer Humanitarian Award - Veverly Austin

Ethel Coe Humanities Award - Edith Evans Hyde

Milo Brown Business Award - New Life Counseling Services and Si Marsh

Phyllis Scott Activist Award - Daniel Williams

William Glenn Trailblazer Award - Montford Point Marines (Bishop Darvis Beene, Frederick D. Johnson, Bobby E. Jones, David T. King and Cpl. Reuben Smartt)

Raymond Tardy Community Service Award - Darel Ross II

H.C. Toliver Religious Life Award - Brenda Brame

Hattie Beverly Education Award  - Dr. Mattie P. Hampton

Martha Reynolds Labor Award - Ken C. Godwin

Giant Among Giants - Larry D. Johnson

2017 Giants Awards & Banquet

2016 Giants Awards & Banquet

2015 Giants Awards & Banquet

2014 Giants Awards & Banquet

2013 Giants Awards & Banquet

2012 Giants Awards & Banquet