AGC Decision Form

Curriculum Policy (7.18)

Decision

On March 14, 2023, the AGC membership voted to support the recommendation not to change the current policy.

Sponsor/Champion of Proposed Policy

- Co-Chairs: Erin Busscher & Michael Miller
- Curriculum Approval Team: Werner Absenger, Sasha Ahmed, Ben Allen-Smith, Nick Antonakis, Lyttron Burris, Valerie Butterfield, Megan Coakley, Vikki Cooper, David DeBoer, Deb DeWent, Shanna Goff, Daniel Groh, Brian Hadley, Ann Isackson, Tom Kaechele, Ian Matthews, Brittany Medlin, Mursalata Muhammad, Matt Novakoski, Jonathan Resendiz, Grant Snider, Dan Sullivan, Gordan Vurusic, Jeff Winkle
- Additional Participants: Mike Light

Rationale

- This policy was revised in 2017, focusing on clarifying vague or broad language, definitions, and descriptions throughout the policy statement, the basis for much of the current policy, definitions, Pathways added to the policy, MTA added to the policy, and non-credit revised.
- This policy was revised again in 2019, mostly for new General Education changes, removal of Associate of Science (A.S.), clock hour and non-credit programs, exception for programs and degrees to the MTA for rare and unique cases, and curriculum review on regular, consistent process.
- The policy committee reviewed the policy, scanned and benchmarked other peer institutions, presented their findings, responded to AGC member questions in two AGC meetings, and voted on the third meeting.

Supporting Data

Benchmarking Summary

• Three of our nine peer institutions have a similar policy

- All nine peer institutions define degree and program guidelines/standards (through institutional policies, academic webpages, or catalog pages)
- All nine peer institutions appear to have implemented Guided Pathways model (names of Pathways vary, including Career Pathways, Career Clusters, Areas of Study, Areas of Interest, etc.)

Implications for Action

No revisions have been made by the Curriculum Approval Team. No suggestions for changes from AGC.

Date of Decision by AGC

Date: March 14, 2023

Vote:

Vote: motion: Greg Forbes, Christina McElwee second

Results: 100% yes – passed, 56 voting members

Proxy 1: 100% yes, 7 proxy 1 votes

Policy review approved.

Section to be Completed by the Provost

Evaluation Plan

Academic Year: 2026-2027

Response from Provost

Approved for immediate implementation.

Tina Hoxie, Interim Provost

Date