Main Navigation Menu

English Department Advising Guide

For a printable (PDF) copy of the following information, click on the link in the right margin.

Department of English

Office Location: 400 CPP
Office Phone: 234-4243
Office Hours: M - F, 7:30 am - 4:30 pm

Majors Advised: English
Preferred Method of Contact: Phone or email instructor to set up appointment.

Faculty who advise students (with contact info. and type of students advised):

Janice Balyeat          
Email: jbalyeat@grcc.edu
Advising area: English Major

Colleen Becker         
Email: cbecker@grcc.edu

Advising area: ESL

Lyttron Burris
Email: lburris@grcc.edu   
Advising area: Literature

Janice Chapman      
Email: jchapman@grcc.edu
Advising areas: Secondary Reading, Teaching, Children’s Literature

Megan Coakley
Email: mcoakley@grcc.edu
Advising areas: Secondary English, Teaching

Vikki Cooper
Email: vcooper@grcc.edu
Advising areas: Secondary Reading, Secondary English Ed., African American Literature

Tony Dykema-Vanderark
Email: adykemavanderark@grcc.edu
Advising area: English Major

Shavval Fleming
Email: sfleming@grcc.edu
Advising area:    English Major

Roland Gani
Email: rgani@grcc.edu
Advising Areas: Basic Composition, English Literature, British, American, and Multicultural Lit

Joan Gearns
Email: jgearns@gcc.edu
Advising area: Composition

James Hayes
Email: jhayes@grcc.edu
Advising area: English Major

Katrina Kalisz
Email: kkaliz@grcc.edu
Advising areas: Poetry, Creative Writing

Maryann Lesert
Email: mlesert@grcc.edu
Advising areas: Creative Writing, Sustainability/Environmental Lit.

Andrew Lussky
Email: alussky@grcc.edu
Advising area: English Major

Christina McElwee   
Email: cmcelwee@grcc.edu
Advising areas: Secondary Reading, Children’s Literature

Heida Meister
Email: hmeister@grcc.edu
Advising area: Secondary Reading

Susan Mowers
Email: smowers@grcc.edu
Advising area: British Literature

Mursalata Muhammad
Email: mmuhamma@grcc.edu
Advising areas: Rhetoric & Composition, Literature (American, African-American, and US Latino), Creative Writing

Nora Neill
Email: nneill@grcc.edu   
Advising areas: American Literature (1845-1910) Women’s Literature, Gender Studies, LGBTQ Literature, Any English Majors

Beverly Shannon
Email: bshannon@grcc.edu
Advising area: English Major

Joel Swets
Email: jswets@grcc.edu
Advising area: English Major

Frederick van Hartesveldt
Email: fvanhart@grcc.edu
Advising area: English Major

Kimberly Wyngarden
Email: kwyngard@grcc.edu
Advising area: Creative Writing

Sheryl York
Email: syork@grcc.edu
Advising area: English Major, Children’s Literature