English Department Academic Advisors

Welcome to the English Department's Academic Advisors page. Here, you will find three different ways to get the help you need:

  1. Below, you will find the names, contact information and areas of interest for our full-time faculty. We encourage you to email a familiar or like-minded professor today!
  2. To the right, you will find documents that address frequently asked questions regarding financial aid and transferring.
  3. And in the left-hand column, you will find a link to the Advising Questionnaire page, where you can submit your questions electronically. 

Our full-time English professors can help you in your quest to learn more about English programs, majors, and degrees. Please contact us or drop by the English Department office at 400 CPP. Our office hours are Monday-Friday from 7:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. 

English Adviors

Michelle Allen

mjallen@grcc.edu

Composition, Education, Literature (American, African-American, Native American, Poetry, Science Fiction), Women’s Studies

Lyttron Burris

lburris@grcc.edu

Literature (Children’s, Multicultural, African American)

Colleen Becker

cbecker@grcc.edu

English as a Second Language (ESL), Teaching English to Speakers of Other Langauges (TESOL), English

Janice Chapman

jchapman@grcc.edu

Publishing, Free-lance Writing, Journalism, Grant Writing, Advertising

Megan Coakley

mcoakley@grcc.edu

Secondary English, Literature, Developmental Education

Vikki Cooper

vcooper@grcc.edu

Education, English, & Language Arts (Elementary, Middle School, & High School Levels), Secondary & Post-Secondary Reading

Anthony Dykema-VanderArk

adykemavanderark@grcc.edu

American Literature, Multicultural Literature, Online Teaching & Learning

Shavval Fleming

sfleming@grcc.edu

English Composition (100, 101), Literature

Joan Gearns

jgearns@grcc.edu

Writer, Humorist, Creator

James Hayes

jhayes@grcc.edu

English
Katrina Kalisz

kkalisz@grcc.edu

Poetry, Creative Writing, Women’s Literature

Maryann Lesert

mlesert@grcc.edu

Creative Writing (Fiction, Non-Fiction, Playwriting), Environmental & Social Justice (Sustainability), Writing in the Natural Sciences, Interrelatedness of the Arts & Science, Investigative Journalism

Meg Lockard

mlockard@grcc.edu

Student-Driven & Experiential Learning Environments; Online Teaching, Learning, & Writing; Research Writing & Publishing, Social Justice Issues

Andrew Lussky

alussky@grcc.edu

Popular Literature, Literature of the Americas, Kurt Vonnegut, Creative Non-Fiction, Sports-Related Blogs

Rachel Lutwick-Deaner

rlutwickdeaner@grcc.edu

Introduction to Women’s Literature, Popular Literature, English Composition, Understanding the World Through Writing, Reading 

Sean Mackey

smackey@grcc.edu

Poetry (Beat Generation), Postcolonial Theory, Social Criticism, Masculinity Studies, African Literature

Christina McElwee

cmcelwee@grcc.edu

Elementary Education, Secondary Education, Reading

Susan Mowers

smowers@grcc.edu

British Literature, Composition, Degree Paths: English Degree vs Writing/Rhetoric Degree

Mursalata Muhammad

mmuhamma@grcc.edu

Rhetoric & Composition, Literature (American, African American, US Latino), Creative Writing 

Nora Neill

nneill@grcc.edu

Creative Writing (Short Stories), Reading Novels, Yoga, LGBTQ Community Meeting Space

Kellie Roblin

kroblin@grcc.edu

Creative Writing (Literary Non-Fiction), Critical Theory (Post-Colonial & Neo-Colonial Literature), Video Production, Digital Writing

Kimberly Olushola

kolushola@grcc.edu

Developmental Education

Beverly Shannon

bshannon@grcc.edu

Medical Writing, Degree Paths: Writing, Psychology

Frederick van Hartesveldt

fvanhart@grcc.edu

English Composition, Attorney/Law, Journalism, Labor Relations

Kimberly Wyngarden

kwyngard@grcc.edu

Writing (Poetry & Fiction), Reading (19th Century Russian Literature, Anton Chekhov), World Travel, Gardening

Sheryl York

syork@grcc.edu

English, Children's Literature